Sussex County 12 Hour IDRC classes will return to IN PERSON operations beginning with the September 2021 class. IN PERSON classes are limited to 25 participants per class with only 1 class per month. You MUST PRE-REGISTER to reserve a class date which may be different than what is listed on your scheduling letter. You will be notified by email of your actual class date and location AFTER completing pre-registration. Registration is online only: https://forms.sussex.nj.us/f/InPersonIDRC/ . You must use Chrome, Firefox or Safari browser to complete pre-registration. If you need assistance please call or email the office at the contact information below. Failure to register by your scheduling letter class date will result in noncompliance and additional drivers license suspension.
Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
Mailing Address: One Spring Street, Newton NJ 07860
Phone: 973-940-5200 ext. 1370 or 1371
The objective of the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) is to ensure that all Sussex County residents convicted of a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or related offense comply with the court ordered penalties as specified in Title 39:4-50 et seq., specifically 39:4-50 (f) of the NJ Statues annotated and accompanying regulations of Chapter 162 (10:162-1.1 to 10:162-1.3).
The IDRC office is located in the Sussex County Administrative Center at 1 Spring Street, Newton NJ 07860 on the 2nd floor. Office hours are 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, BY APPOINTMENT ONLY.
IDRC CLASS: DUI statute 39:4-50 requires a period of detainment of not less than 12 hours over two consecutive days of not less than six hours each day. The Sussex County IDRC provides this period of detainment one weekend each month. Participants are required to be present no later than 9:00 a.m. and are dismissed at 3:30 p.m. Please bring food and nonalcoholic beverages with you. Participants are not permitted to return if they leave during the class. There is no public transportation available but local taxi service is available for a fee.
CLASS FEES: The New Jersey Intoxicated Driving Program determines the fees that each IDRC can charge. This rate is currently $264.00 for the 12 hour class. To register and pay for a class please click here: https://forms.sussex.nj.us/f/InPersonIDRC/
The Sussex County IDRC provides the following services:
- The court ordered 12 hour class which includes screenings for referrals for a comprehensive substance use assessment. These assessments must be conducted at an IDRC affiliated agency. Call the office for assistance with choosing an affiliated agency.
- Monitors DUI offenders in treatment and/or attending self-help meetings.
- Provides presentations about the IDRC program to the community when requested.
How will I know when I am scheduled to attend the class once I have been convicted of a DUI or related offense? All offenders are scheduled for the IDRC class by the New Jersey Intoxicated Driving Program (IDP). The IDP sends class notification letters three to four months after the conviction date. If you have not received a scheduling letter after four months from your conviction date please call the New Jersey Intoxicated Driving Program at 609-815-3100.
This is an English speaking only class. If you need a Spanish speaking class you will have to be transferred to Hudson County. Please call the office to discuss these arrangements.
Sussex County IDRC office: 973-940-5200, ext. 1370
Due to confidentiality and HIPAA federal and state regulations, you must call the office to obtain specific personal information regarding your IDRC status. No information can be released to attorneys or family members without a signed release.
State of New Jersey Intoxicated Driving Program : 609-815-3100
State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission: 888-486-3339