Find Your Local Recycling Schedule

Sussex County Solid Waste

Advisory Council (SWAC)

Minutes, Agenda and Schedule

The Sussex County Solid Waste Advisory Council (SWAC) is responsible for advising the Sussex County Board of County Commissioners on issues related to solid waste and recycling within Sussex County. The SWAC also reviews any proposed amendments to the County Solid Waste Management Plan. SWAC membership is composed of a representative from each municipality (appointed by the municipality) and seven at-large members (appointed by the Board of County Commissioners). Ex-officio members include representatives from County Planning and Health offices and Sussex County Municipal Utilities Authority.

The SWAC meets the second Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m. in the Commissioner Meeting Room at the Sussex County Administrative Center. If you have any questions regarding the Sussex County Solid Waste Advisory Council, please contact us at or (973) 579-0500.

List of SWAC Members
SWAC By-Laws
Solid Waste Management Plan and Amendments
Application for Solid Waste Plan Amendment
Recycling arrow icon

Solid Waste Advisory Council - 2022

Ex-Officio members (non-voting) include Staff from County Planning, Health Departments and Sussex County Municipal Utilities Authority.

Andover Boro - Jim Landrith
Byram Twp - Mike Busniak
Branchville Borough - Tony Orr
Frankford Twp - Keith Whitehead
Franklin Boro - Jason Doyle
Fredon Twp - Virgil Rome with Suzanne Boland as Alternate
Green Twp - Brian Waddell
Hamburg Boro - Russell Law
Hampton Twp - Karen Hansen
Hardyston Twp - Robert Schultz
Hopatcong Boro - Ryan Smith
Lafayette Twp - Stephanie Pizzulo
Montague Twp - Michael Rathbun
Town of Newton - Adam Vough
Sandyston Twp - Jo-Ann Williamson
Sparta Twp - James Zepp with Christine Smith as Alternate
Stanhope Boro - TBD
Wantage Twp - Jon Morris
Joe Sabella, Chairman
Stephanie Pizzulo, Vice Chair
Christopher Carney, Commissioner Liaison