Skip to main content
Email this page. Print this page set small font size. set medium font size. set large font size

News & Information

Sussex County Presents Safety Awards to Skylands Ride Drivers

Release Date: August 21, 2018
Sussex County is pleased to announce that fourteen drivers qualified for Safety Awards due to their safe, courteous, and incident-free driving during 2017.

Sussex County Skylands Ride transit service provides public and community paratransit transportation for many county residents, including senior citizens, workers, persons with disabilities, and the general public.

Senior Day at the Fair, 2017

Skylands Ride has become a lifeline for many residents, making it possible for them to get to essential medical appointments, dialysis and other life-saving treatments, as well as providing transportation to and from employment. Drivers traveled over 614,000 miles in 2017, and Skylands Ride is proud of their safe and reliable service. The Safety Award represents more than just safe driving. Drivers must use defensive driving, customer service skills, and avert accidents.

Drivers traveled over 614,000 miles in 2017

Safety Awards were presented to Skylands Ride drivers during Senior Day festivities at the New Jersey State Fair/Sussex County Farm and Horse Show on August 9, 2018. Freeholder Director Jonathan Rose and Deputy Director Sylvia Petillo, along with Freeholders George Graham, Carl Lazzaro and Herb Yardley, presented the drivers with Certificates of Excellence from the County of Sussex. Assemblymen Parker Space and Harold Wirths presented each driver with a citation from the State of New Jersey Senate and General Assembly. Congressman Josh Gottheimer also presented each driver with a Congressional Certificate of Recognition, and Ernie Reigstad of Skylands Risk Management was on site to congratulate and present gift cards to the recipients as well.

The County Freeholders, Administration, Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Community and Youth Services, and Skylands Ride congratulate this year's recipients and wish them many more miles of safe travel.